11 Replies - 1115 Views - Last Post: 16 April 2009 - 02:03 AM

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Magazine tutorials

Posted 13 March 2009 - 07:38 PM

Hey, I have been thinking about trying to start up a web based magazine and was wondering if anyone knew a good site (or a few good sites) on how to use Adobe InDesign to make magazines and the like. I have read through the ones at Pixel2Life, but they don't have very many so I would like to see some more.

Things I am especially interested in learning about are how to write articles well, and make them interesting for other people to read.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Magazine tutorials

• i am colt mccoy
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Magazine tutorials

Posted 14 March 2009 - 09:18 AM

well writing articles would not at all be related to indesign at all. so...... yeah....

my day job is magazine assistant art director so this is my field.

in the days of shitty ad sales and the death of paper, most magazines use a combination of copywriting skills more so than awesome journalism to be completely honest.

i mean, its just english skills for the writing beyond that, i would say short story type stuff which you can take classes for .

InDesign itself is not complicated to use. If you know the adobe suite, photoshop or illustrator, then the transition is easy you just have to play around with it a little while.

I don't know any specific print-graphic design tutorials. I've thought about writing some here actually but I'm not as knowledgeable in all the details to really write any.

This may sound like too much of a step but if you find a local print shop they can treat you to a walkthrough or something. you have to learn the physical side if you want the design side to make sense (bleeds, margins, in-the-fold) etc..
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 March 2009 - 09:22 AM