4 Replies - 420 Views - Last Post: 21 March 2009 - 08:23 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

greetings

Post icon  Posted 21 March 2009 - 04:55 PM

Name's Walt Irby. I live in LA right now, but my wife and I are getting ready to move back home to the East coast (DC area) this summer. I'm educated as a filmmaker, but I am strongly considering switching "careers" to web design -- freelance or full-time for some small, creative company (if this economy and job market will allow either). The reason for making this switch is because I've been working for just that kind of small, creative company for a year and a half now, overseeing its operations, including all web and graphic design, and I find it incredibly intriguing. I am not formally trained, completely self-taught, and this forum seems awesome for keeping that up. See ya around.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: greetings

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: greetings

Posted 21 March 2009 - 05:22 PM

Greetings Walt, this community is a brilliant place to be if you're self-teaching yourself a language like I am. I hope you find the support to keep learning :)

Switching careers is a big step, are you interesting in the design aspect of web developing or the coding side, or a mix of both perhaps?

I wish you well with your career decision, and I hope to see you around the forums :^: Drop by the Caffeine Lounge for a chat with some DIC users :)
Welcome to Dream.In.Code.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 21 March 2009 - 05:32 PM

Definitely a mix of design and coding. I'd place myself at a beginner-to-intermediate level for both, mostly just self-taught using HTML, CSS, some PHP and some MySQL. I love Coda for editing code and Photoshop for graphic design. My live sites right now are keysundaycinemaclub.com and waltirby.com. I'd love feedback if anyone's got the time... my boss gives me feedback, but he doesn't know code at all... thx.