7 Replies - 1427 Views - Last Post: 26 June 2001 - 09:05 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

so where do i start

Posted 21 June 2001 - 04:25 PM

well after spending a few months fighting with both photoshop and flash.........i am ready to take the big step of designing my first menu........

only one small problem........

i have no idea how 2 design........

no idea what looks good.......

which is probably why i am a programmer not a designer.....

so where do u start.......

with the restrictions?........

size......usability.....no of menu items required.....

mwaaaaahhh u know after spending nearly 3 solid months of learning to use the software(actually watched the x-files tonight)...this is just sooooooooo unfair.....

mind u no one ever said life was fair :)

any tips or advice would be appreciated

galadriel

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: so where do i start

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: so where do i start

Posted 21 June 2001 - 04:33 PM

of course tip no 1 would be.....

going 2 bed and getting a good nights sleep.......:)

galadriel

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 21 June 2001 - 06:40 PM

I would have to say that an idea of good design comes from looking at how other web pages are laid out. You will want to look at web pages that you think are great and also at pages that you think totally suck. This way, you will have an idea of what types of things you will want to integrate into your web pages.

I noticed that you didn't mention HTML. If you want to design awesome pages, then learning HTML is a must. Granted, there are programs that will help you to layout a web page/site, but they are limited in what they can do. I'm sure that as a programmer, you just hate being limited.

Anyhow, that is my two cents. if you have any more specific questions or otherwise, just post and I'll reply back to it.

Tsmoke

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Whiskey Tango Foxtrot!?

• View blog