3 Replies - 920 Views - Last Post: 31 March 2009 - 06:40 AM

#1 ismailc  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Force insert value to TextBox in a certain order

Posted 31 March 2009 - 03:39 AM

Hi, I need help please.

I have a textbox with char length 30 & a tooltip providing user information on how the value should look like.

The value should be in the following order of: Test1 Test2 Test3
but the user's keep on getting it wrong: Test1 Test3 Test2
all kinds of order even though they have been educated via mail & tooltip.

In the past I had 3 different text boxes that adds up to one and was cancelled as the users got confused. The values are string & can be anything, it's just the order of the value is incorrect to make the field valid.

I have a backround image on textbox indicating the format

Any Ideas?

Regards

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Force insert value to TextBox in a certain order

#2 thehat  Icon User is offline

  • awake ? web();
  • member icon

Reputation: 106
  • View blog
  • Posts: 951
  • Joined: 28-February 08

Re: Force insert value to TextBox in a certain order

Posted 31 March 2009 - 05:41 AM

This is a double post, but I think my reply is better placed in the javascript forum.

Quote

Can you present the user with only one box at a time, asking for the correct value to be inserted? Use javascript to only reveal a second text box when the first has been filled in, and the third when the second is filled in.

This post has been edited by thehat: 31 March 2009 - 05:41 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 ismailc  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: Force insert value to TextBox in a certain order

Posted 31 March 2009 - 05:54 AM

Apologies, i did not know where to post this question!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 thehat  Icon User is offline

  • awake ? web();
  • member icon

Reputation: 106
  • View blog
  • Posts: 951
  • Joined: 28-February 08

Re: Force insert value to TextBox in a certain order

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:40 AM

No worries! So is there a reason why you couldn't hide the text boxes and reveal them one by one?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1