9 Replies - 4635 Views - Last Post: 05 April 2009 - 11:44 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Comparing Arrays in a while loop in perl

Posted 02 April 2009 - 09:09 AM

Hey,

I started playing about with Perl for the first time yesterday as I've got some work coming up that it will be useful for. I'm trying to write a script that will take start and end IP's for a netblock and print out all the possible IP's inbetween but I'm having a little difficulty comparing the arrays that I'm using to store the current and end IP's. Here's my code so far:

#Get the range to be displayed from the user
print "Config start address \n";
$startAddress = <STDIN>;
print "Config end address \n";
$endAddress = <STDIN>;
#Get rid of the carrage returns
chomp($startAddress);
chomp($endAddress);

#Pack the start and end address into seperate arrays to be used.
#We also need an array to store the current address.
@start = split(/\./, $startAddress);
@end = split(/\./, $endAddress);
@currentAddress = @start;

#This is the loop that I am having problems with
while(@currentAddress != @end){
	incAddress();
}

sub incAddress{
	#We don't know how big the supplied netblock will be so provide functionality for every possibility.
	printAddress();
	if ($end[3] > $currentAddress[3]){
		$currentAddress[3]++;
		printAddress();
	}
	#Increase the value of the third octet by 1 and reset the fourth octet
	if ($end[2] > $currentAddress[2] && $currentAddress[3] eq $end[3]){
		$currentAddress[2]++;
		$currentAddress[3] = 0;
		printAddress();
	}
	#Increase the value of the seccond octet by 1 and reset the third and fourth octets
	if ($end[1] > $currentAddress[1] && $currentAddress[2] eq $end[2]){
		$currentAddress[1]++;
		$currentAddress[2] = 0;
		$currentAddress[3] = 0;
		printAddress();
	}
}
sub printAddress {
	$printableAdd = join("\.", @currentAddress);
	print $printableAdd;
}