7 Replies - 1891 Views - Last Post: 08 April 2009 - 10:43 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Very basic question about URL variables

Post icon  Posted 07 April 2009 - 07:54 AM

Hi there.

I am actually a newbie to coldfusion and I am just getting to grips with the code, so go easy on me!

Firstly when I installed the developer edition of CF I had to select a port of 8080 because my machine would not allow port 80 because it was adamant that another program was using it. I thought it was skype but I changed that but it still wouldn't work so I had to use 8080. I am not sure as to whether this a fundamental issue.

I have been doing a basic exercise on webucator.com 'Passing Variables via the Query String'.

I thought that this would be fairly straightforward however it is proving difficult.

This is the code that I am placing in the html document HelloWho.html within my wwwroot folder (C:\inetpub\wwwroot ...) :

<html>
<head>
	<title>Greeting the Beatles</title>
</head>
<body>
	Choose a Beatle to greet.
	<ul>
	<li><a href="HelloWho.cfm?greet=Paul">Paul</a></li>
	<li><a href="HelloWho.cfm?greet=John">John</a></li>
	<li><a href="HelloWho.cfm?greet=George">George</a></li>
	<li><a href="HelloWho.cfm?greet=Ringo">Ringo</a></li>
	</ul>
</body>

and in the cfm page, HelloWho.cfm

<html>
<head>
	<title>Hello <cfoutput>#URL.greet#</cfoutput></title>
</head>

<body>

<cfoutput>Hello #URL.greet#</cfoutput>

</body>

</html>

When I test this in the browser, if I click on one of the links, it displays :
Hello #URL.greet#

Even when I placed, in the cfm page, the cfoutput tags around the html tags it still did not work. It displayed all the html coding as written above.

I hope someone might be able to help, I know this may seem fairly basic but it's driving me nuts! If someone could palm me off to a more apt forum that would also be helpul.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by grapevinefires: 07 April 2009 - 07:56 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +