Page 1 of 1

Speed Up Firefox Rate Topic: -----

#1 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1866
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,278
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Posted 04 January 2005 - 02:08 PM

Here's something for broadband people that will really speed Firefox up:

1.Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining
network.http.proxy.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.

If you're using a broadband connection you'll load pages MUCH faster now!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Speed Up Firefox

#2 pioSko  Icon User is offline

  • still.dreaming
  • member icon

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,888
  • Joined: 06-June 03

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:48 AM

Quote

Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.


View this before you make changes

Quote

Mike:

Ahoy there mates you let the proverbial bobcat out of the bag ...

The dearly beloved "run the turbines at Military Power 'til they blow up" Scribner on your staff who suggests sticking their foot through the floorboards by tweaking Firefox & setting "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to "30" connections (This means it will make 30 requests at once.)

Said Scribner, who is obviously a gamer & overclocker freak, _FORGOT_ to read the comments section at th4e bottom of the posting http://forevergeek.c...er.php#comments

"#13 Great little tips, but only one problem, and that's that you're breaking servers by doing this. 3-5 requests is fine, but trying to do 30 requests at once puts some strain on the server. If two people try to access the same page at once with this set, that's 60 connections. Most httpd's are set to cut off after there are 100 connections made. So, 4 people with this set could not access the same site. I urge you to think things through before setting something like this and killing the websites you browse."

Was the editor off having a pint when this one was lashed onto top billing?

Tell Said Scribner, okay you can grab a lot of server bandwidth and therefore cut out everybody else. But that simply proves your grandmother didn't beat you about the head and ears often enough when you stole all the chocolate biscuits/cookies from the plate. The system works when folks share - not be a freaking bandwidth hog ...

John O

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Technqe  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 22-July 08

Posted 23 July 2008 - 08:01 PM

Okay I have a problem when I went to start the steps in your tutorial. I the hit enter key after typing in "about:config" and the page came up it said "This might void your warranty" I want to know if it is referring to the warranty of my computer.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 born2c0de  Icon User is offline

  • printf("I'm a %XR",195936478);
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,667
  • Joined: 26-November 04

Posted 23 July 2008 - 11:06 PM

Quote

I want to know if it is referring to the warranty of my computer.

Don't worry, it refers to the warranty of Firefox, not your computer.
:)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Technqe  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 22-July 08

Posted 24 July 2008 - 05:59 PM

Oh Okay cool thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 iJon  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 09

Posted 14 January 2009 - 08:46 PM

thanks man works fine with me...cool
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 gaban  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 26-January 09

Posted 26 January 2009 - 09:03 PM

hi..
i`m a new firefox user.I just wanna know this tricks work better with broadband or wireless internet connection.
please let me know it..
thanks..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 crazyjugglerdrummer  Icon User is offline

  • GAME OVER. NERD WINS.
  • member icon

Reputation: 119
  • View blog
  • Posts: 690
  • Joined: 07-January 09

Posted 19 June 2009 - 01:07 PM

Yeah, this will speed up your page loading, but its kind of being a bad web citizen because it makes everybody else's page load slower if they're trying to acess the server

This post has been edited by crazyjugglerdrummer: 21 June 2009 - 03:41 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 -=m0n1k3r=-  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 16
  • View blog
  • Posts: 250
  • Joined: 10-February 10

Posted 10 February 2010 - 02:16 PM

View Postgaban, on 26 January 2009 - 08:03 PM, said:

hi..
i`m a new firefox user.I just wanna know this tricks work better with broadband or wireless internet connection.
please let me know it..
thanks..



i use a wifi connection and this worked for me =D
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 shafqatali_89@hotmail.com  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 29-August 10

Posted 29 August 2010 - 11:51 AM

thanx it works
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1