3 Replies - 3672 Views - Last Post: 28 May 2009 - 11:17 AM

#1 whitecrossnathan   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 24-March 09

Saving text from a dynamic text box

Posted 21 May 2009 - 03:35 PM

Hi,

I'm currently creating an interactive game for teachers that works around the teachers inputting Q and A's into dynamic text boxes. I've been searching for so long and posting on so many sites to see what the code is to save the input text.

In more depth, The finished .swf contains multiple dynamic text boxes for where the teachers input their desired text. I was wondering whether they can then save the inputted text to the .swf without having to own Flash CS4.

Please help I would really appreciate it! I have been looking for so m=long and I can't get any code that helps!

Nathan

This post has been edited by whitecrossnathan: 21 May 2009 - 03:36 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Saving text from a dynamic text box

#2 zaferaltun   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 26-May 09

Re: Saving text from a dynamic text box

Posted 26 May 2009 - 03:53 AM

You can save texts to the harddisk with air classes. So, you have to make an air application.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 mary_fisher   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 26-May 09

Re: Saving text from a dynamic text box

Posted 26 May 2009 - 04:08 AM

Hi,

I don't know, if this will help you, but I had a similar problem and found this through google:

http://www.peachpit....a...06&seqNum=3

Ulli


Oh, and I forgot:

This might not be an option, but this stuff is easier done with adobe director.

This post has been edited by mary_fisher: 26 May 2009 - 04:09 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 ahmad_511   User is offline

  • MSX
  • member icon

Reputation: 131
  • View blog
  • Posts: 722
  • Joined: 28-April 07

Re: Saving text from a dynamic text box

Posted 28 May 2009 - 11:17 AM

hello,

I don't think there is a way to accomplish that using AS2.
But, are you a windows user?..
If you are and you played a little bit with windows scripting, you may then heard about .hta files (HTML Application).

.hta file looks like .htm file but it uses different interpreter to execute (mshta.exe)

and this interpreter can by using Jscript/VBscript reach your hard drive without any concerns about the security issues you have when using IE with activex

now, from flash side you can use flash.external.ExternalInterface class to call/call back javascript(which will save the datat to your hard drive)

as i mentioned before this will be useless if you concern about none windows users...

Regards
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1