6 Replies - 4044 Views - Last Post: 08 June 2009 - 12:26 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 jimdandy75   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 37
  • View blog
  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: 30-June 08

Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

Post icon  Posted 04 June 2009 - 06:15 PM

So I made a program that uses an MS Access database. It runs perfectly fine in Debug mode, also I can run the .exe out of the final folder with no problems. It uses Connection String to connect to the DB. I've built the project in VS2008, and placed it on a website. I can download it on my laptop (Vista) or my PC (XP) from the site and it works great. The problem I ran into though, is when others download it, they are saying that they get an unhandled exception, and database errors, like the DB doesn't download. Any ideas ? Could it be that they don't have MS Access? I do recall though, before I had Access I had a program that used an Access DB, and it worked fine.
Here is the program, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you !!! :D

http://appsamazing.com/

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

#2 Damage   User is offline

  • Lord of Schwing
  • member icon

Reputation: 300
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,989
  • Joined: 05-June 08

Re: Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

Posted 04 June 2009 - 06:19 PM

now that i think about it i'm not sure but my first reaction would be to check that they have (at least) the access runtime installed
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jimdandy75   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 37
  • View blog
  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: 30-June 08

Re: Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

Posted 04 June 2009 - 06:28 PM

Would that be something I do in Prerequisites?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 jimdandy75   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 37
  • View blog
  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: 30-June 08

Re: Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

Posted 06 June 2009 - 09:32 AM

Ok I changed the prerequisites to include the office tools 3.0 runtime. And I also set it up as a ClickOnce Deployment.
Could someone please download for me and see if it is working correctly? The 3 buttons at the top (Enter Bonus, Clear Bonus, & Rakeback) are for adding amounts into the database. This all works on my XP PC and my Vista laptop, but I have MS Access on both. I'd really appreciate any input. Thanks :D

www.AppsAmazing.com

Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 jimdandy75   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 37
  • View blog
  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: 30-June 08

Re: Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

Posted 07 June 2009 - 04:48 PM

Anyone ???? :blink:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 mart4vb   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 03-June 09

Re: Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

Posted 07 June 2009 - 11:50 PM

please i would like you to help me overcome this problem:
I am creating a program in VB6 and database is through MS Access, I used the code below to connect to database:

Dim adoConn As ADODB.Connection
Dim ConnectionString As String
Set adoConn = New ADODB.Connection
ConnectionString = “Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0; user id =martin; password = pass;”
adoConn.Open ConnectionString



but the system is showing me this error below:

Run-time error '-2147467259 (80004005)'
Could not find installable ISAM.



Please what do i do?
and what are the programs i needed to install to use VB6 without errors?

This post has been edited by mart4vb: 07 June 2009 - 11:53 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 jimdandy75   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 37
  • View blog
  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: 30-June 08

Re: Problems with MS Access Database Deploying ?

Posted 08 June 2009 - 12:26 PM

Not sure, I've never used VB6. You might want to post that in the VB6 Forum though, and I'm sure you'll get some help.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1