IE treating code weird

HAs anyone else noticed it on the newer versions of IE

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 798 Views - Last Post: 18 June 2009 - 01:12 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

IE treating code weird

Posted 15 June 2009 - 07:58 AM

I am a ColdFusion developer using AJAX and I am noticing that the newer 2 versions of IE (Version 7 and 8) act weird... such as having on onclick event wait for the user to click the event anchor and then click somewhere else before it does anything, or have really thick horizontal rules, and strong and bold tags not working. It is really frustrating.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: IE treating code weird

• .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: IE treating code weird

Posted 15 June 2009 - 08:01 AM

That's interesting, never seen it happen before.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 June 2009 - 01:17 PM

I know nothing about Cold Fusion, so I'll apologize in advance...

I've never seen anything like what you describe in IE7 or IE8, especially relating to AJAX. In my experience, bugs like these are always a CSS or Javascript issue that the developer missed and NOT the fault of the browser.

Are you using built-in CF libraries for your AJAX functionality? I know that ASP.NET's built-in AJAX libraries are somewhat sketchy in certain situations, so I always use Javascript libraries like jQuery or ExtJS and write the code myself. If you're using some built-in library, it's possible that it's out of date or just plain crappy.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 16 June 2009 - 01:41 PM

View Postarthurakay, on 16 Jun, 2009 - 12:17 PM, said:

I know nothing about Cold Fusion, so I'll apologize in advance...