8 Replies - 1490 Views - Last Post: 24 June 2009 - 02:50 AM

#1 firebolt   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 93
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,561
  • Joined: 20-February 09

New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 12:41 AM

Hi.

I've been using this code for opening a link in a new window:
<a href="" target="_blank">


but I was wondering if there was something similar for opening a link in a new tab.

Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: New Tab

#2 no2pencil   User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6878
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,672
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 12:49 AM

I would be surprised if tabs were a part of html standards. Do all browsers have tabs now?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 noorahmad   User is offline

  • Untitled
  • member icon

Reputation: 209
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,290
  • Joined: 12-March 09

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 01:00 AM

Quote

I would be surprised if tabs were a part of html standards.

hahah.... hehehehe...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 RudiVisser   User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1010
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,566
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 01:37 AM

View Postfirebolt, on 23 Jun, 2009 - 11:41 PM, said:

Hi.

I've been using this code for opening a link in a new window:
<a href="" target="_blank">


but I was wondering if there was something similar for opening a link in a new tab.

Thanks.

Sadly there isn't, no. Although good browsers (Op, IE, Safari, Chrome, Konqueror, etc) will open a new tab anyway, think there's only 1 that doesn't :blink:

There's not even some browser-specific Javascript that will open a new tab, either, which kindof sucks.

This post has been edited by MageUK: 24 June 2009 - 01:41 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 firebolt   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 93
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,561
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:11 AM

Wow. But when I click on the website part in the DIC profiles, it opens in a new tab, rather than a new page. Can anyone answer to that? Edit *it sometimes does that*

This post has been edited by firebolt: 24 June 2009 - 02:12 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 no2pencil   User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6878
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,672
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:13 AM

Like MageUK pointed out, most browsers will open a new tab for _blank. Or are you saying that you are getting a different result?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 firebolt   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 93
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,561
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:17 AM

No sorry my bad. Edited it before you posted.

IE8 doesn't allow me to open in a new tab when using _blank, but FF and Opera allows me to. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 RudiVisser   User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1010
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,566
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:49 AM

It's all down to the configuration, if it doesn't do it, it probably can be changed in settings.

I always middle-click links anyway, so they open in a new background tab ^_^
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 firebolt   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 93
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,561
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: New Tab

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:50 AM

Same. its always easier. Anyway, thanks to all who responded. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1