4 Replies - 2163 Views - Last Post: 14 February 2002 - 06:56 PM

#1 nighthawk   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Joined: 11-April 01

drop down boxes

Posted 31 December 2001 - 12:11 PM

is it possible to use a server side include in a drop down box, like i have an *.htm page and it has links in it, and it's automatically updated, and i want all those links to be in a drop down box, can i just say something like:

and it will automatically add those links to the drop down box for me?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: drop down boxes

#2 codeman   User is offline

  • w3c fanatic

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,190
  • Joined: 13-August 01

Re: drop down boxes

Posted 31 December 2001 - 12:25 PM

I would assume that the answer would be yes, but why wouldn't you just put the whole navigation system as a SSI?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 skyhawk133   User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1964
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,423
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: drop down boxes

Posted 31 December 2001 - 12:32 PM

you are correct codeman, it can be done... but I'm not sure if it can be done using the approach she mentioned. I would just make a file with the code for that drop down box... the ENTIRE thing... not just the stuff in between the <select> tags. That would be easier :) We did that a bit on the bluezebra hosting site nighthawk... for the signup pages... I included entire forms.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 nighthawk   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Joined: 11-April 01

Re: drop down boxes

Posted 31 December 2001 - 12:36 PM

i figured something out, since i'm using blogger, all i had to do was write a javascript, and use the blogger includes and it does exactly what i want it to :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 OMEGA   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 14-February 02

Re: drop down boxes

Posted 14 February 2002 - 06:56 PM

at - http://www.umcgracelincoln.org a site I made and maintain, I have a drop down menu navigation system. Although it uses more than Javascript. It uses Javascript, XML, XSL, and CSS. So it is a more complex type of system, that I haven't even figured out completely. If you guys want I can maybe post up some code and how it works.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1