3 Replies - 1390 Views - Last Post: 29 September 2009 - 12:50 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Choosing two lowest values in set of three

Posted 29 September 2009 - 08:29 AM

I am a beginning computer science student. My college teaches Java as the first language and one of my first classes is teaching assembly language. I'm having trouble with an assignment that requires writing an assembly language program that will accept three integers and output the two lowest. I only have certain operations available to me (addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, jump if negative, jump if not negative, jump, and halt to stop the program).

So if I input x=8, y=-10 and z=9, I'd have to write a program that would output 8 and -10 using only basic arithmetic and the limited conditional programming provided by the jumps. These aren't hard numbers and they're entered at random so it could be any three integers, negative or non-negative.

After the integers are entered, I'd start by:

load x
subtract y
jump if not negative to NEW_STEP (if the result is 0 or higher, I know y is smaller than or equal to x, so i will output y in the next step)
output y
NEW_STEP output x
load y
subtract z
jump if not negative to NEW_STEP2
output z
halt program
NEW_STEP2 output y
halt program

The logic seems simple enough, but I'm missing an arithmetic or logical step somewhere because running the program will sometimes output the two lowest digits and sometimes it won't (it changes depending on the order of the numbers and/or if a negative digit is input first, second or third).

As is the way of these forums, I'm not looking for the answer...I really want to learn on my own. But any advice on what I might be overlooking would be appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Choosing two lowest values in set of three

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Choosing two lowest values in set of three

Posted 29 September 2009 - 11:59 AM