• +

16 Replies - 21674 Views - Last Post: 26 January 2018 - 01:44 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Perl Web Crawler

Post icon  Posted 30 October 2009 - 04:08 AM

Hey,

I'm quite new to Programming and OO programming especially. Nonetheless, I'm trying to write a very simple Spider for web crawling. Here's the code:

#!C:\Perl\bin\perl

use warnings;

BEGIN {
	open my $file1,"+>>", ("links.txt");
	select($file1);  
}
use LWP::Simple;
use LWP::UserAgent;
use HTTP::Request;
use HTTP::Response;
use HTML::LinkExtor;

#The Url I want it to start at;
$URL = "http://www.computersecrets.eu.pn/";

#Request and receive contents of a web page;
for ($URL) {
$contents = get ($URL);
$browser = LWP::UserAgent->new('IE 6');
$browser->timeout(10);	
my $request = HTTP::Request->new(GET => $URL);
my $response = $browser->request($request);

#Tell me if there is an error;
if ($response->is_error()) {printf "%s\n", $response->status_line;}
$contents = $response->content();

#Extract the links from the HTML;
my ($page_parser) = HTML::LinkExtor->new(undef, $URL);
	$page_parser->parse($contents)->eof;
	@links = $page_parser->links;

#Print the link to a links.txt file;
foreach $link (@links) {print "$$link[2]\n";}
} 

The problem is that I can't seem to figure out how to take the @links array and put back into $URL. Like it is now, it will fetch the links and print them, but it won't follow them. Any ideas as to how I can get it to follow the links it finds?

Thanks for your help guys ;)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Perl Web Crawler

• Perl Parson
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Perl Web Crawler

Posted 30 October 2009 - 06:23 AM

$URL is your problem... It's a scalar value (indicated by the leading "$") and scalars can only hold one thing at a time. You can't put @links into $URL because @links is a list of values, not a single value.

Try this instead:

use strict; # You always want to include both strict and warnings
use warnings;