1 Replies - 641 Views - Last Post: 04 January 2010 - 07:55 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hea I'm new here and to programming

Posted 04 January 2010 - 07:49 PM

Hello, I'm a new programming student and I'm currently employed as a meat cutter/fish-man in a supermarket. Just switched from CET to a Programming AS at a local Community College and I'm brand spanking new to programming. My only knowledge comes from Absolute Beginner's Guide to C. About finished reading it. Thinking of moving on to The C Programming Language if I'm able to understand it.

I've practiced a bit programming in C, my chosen starter language. Now, working on a poker game. I've attached code for "Rock, Paper, Scissors" that I wrote today while noodling around for practice.

I'm admittedly very inexperienced and I know I'm lacking in the math department, not really bad at math just was a very undisciplined home-schooler growing up and didn't apply myself. So I'm playing catch up in math, but I do have discipline now and a lot of eagerness to learn everything I can about programming. My goal is to be well rounded and employed as soon as possible. I don't want short-cuts. I understand to be good I have to work extremely hard.

By reading/posting on this site I hope to get some pointers on how and what to study to make the most of my effort. Feel free to comment on the code bellow. Not sure what you can gather from it because it's very simple, but if you see me lacking in one respect or many please point me in the right direction. Thanks and see you around. :D

#include "stdafx.h"
#include "iostream"
#include "string"
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <time.h>
int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
char choice;
int opponent;
char play = 'y';
int pScore;
int playerWin = 0;
int opponentWin = 0;

time_t t;
srand(time(&t));
while (play == 'y')
{
printf("Rock Paper Scissors\n\n");
printf("Player Wins %d\n", playerWin);
printf("Opponent Wins %d\n", opponentWin);
printf("Choose Wisely......\n");