6 Replies - 25433 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2010 - 08:21 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 dumatra213   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 19-January 10

how to run turbo c in windows 7

Post icon  Posted 19 January 2010 - 06:42 AM

how to run turbo c in window 7 ..help plzzz

beginner lang po ako
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: how to run turbo c in windows 7

#2 JackOfAllTrades   User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6246
  • View blog
  • Posts: 24,014
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: how to run turbo c in windows 7

Posted 19 January 2010 - 06:47 AM

A search of the forum would have led you to this FAQ entry.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 Bench   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 944
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,464
  • Joined: 20-August 07

Re: how to run turbo c in windows 7

Posted 19 January 2010 - 06:59 AM

View PostJackOfAllTrades, on 19 Jan, 2010 - 01:47 PM, said:

A search of the forum would have led you to this FAQ entry.

Aha, I didn't realise Windows 7 had completely dropped support for 16-bit applications (About time too!). Perhaps this will eventually, finally, lead to schools and colleges putting an end to their students' misery of forcing Turbo C down their throats when they are eventually forced to upgrade to something modern by way of OS constraints.

Now, if the next version of Windows could do something to discourage void main.. ;)

This post has been edited by Bench: 19 January 2010 - 07:00 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 JackOfAllTrades   User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6246
  • View blog
  • Posts: 24,014
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: how to run turbo c in windows 7

Posted 19 January 2010 - 07:04 AM

Bench, as long as people are providing workarounds, I wouldn't hold my breath ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 NickDMax   User is offline

  • Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

Reputation: 2255
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,245
  • Joined: 18-February 07

Re: how to run turbo c in windows 7

Posted 19 January 2010 - 07:15 AM

I fear that my recent rants about the outdated compiler may have caused in increase in traffic on the subject (more google hits?)
Was This Post Helpful? 1

#6 horace   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 768
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,832
  • Joined: 25-October 06

Re: how to run turbo c in windows 7

Posted 19 January 2010 - 07:36 AM

View Postdumatra213, on 19 Jan, 2010 - 12:42 PM, said:

how to run turbo c in window 7 ..help plzzz

beginner lang po ako

assuming turbo C is in folder c:\tc I found that by
1. put mouse over tc.exe in the c:\tc\bin folder and right button click
2. click on properties
3. click Run this program in compatibility mode for
4. in the drop down menu select Windows 98/Windows ME

put c:\tc\bin on the path, e.g.
path=c:\tc\bin;%path%

and it compiles, links and runs programs OK

did not try graphics though!

I would recommend switching to a modern compiler and IDE such as Code::Blocks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 NickDMax   User is offline

  • Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

Reputation: 2255
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,245
  • Joined: 18-February 07

Re: how to run turbo c in windows 7

Posted 19 January 2010 - 08:21 AM

View Posthorace, on 19 Jan, 2010 - 09:36 AM, said:

View Postdumatra213, on 19 Jan, 2010 - 12:42 PM, said:

how to run turbo c in window 7 ..help plzzz

beginner lang po ako

assuming turbo C is in folder c:\tc I found that by
1. put mouse over tc.exe in the c:\tc\bin folder and right button click
2. click on properties
3. click Run this program in compatibility mode for
4. in the drop down menu select Windows 98/Windows ME

put c:\tc\bin on the path, e.g.
path=c:\tc\bin;%path%

and it compiles, links and runs programs OK

did not try graphics though!

I would recommend switching to a modern compiler and IDE such as Code::Blocks


64bit (windows) operating systems will not run 16-bit programs at all. You can run them on a VM or emulator but the OS itself will not run the program (so you can't even install Turbo C/C++ let alone run it).

The link that Jack gave above goes into detail on this subject.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1