3 Replies - 2330 Views - Last Post: 10 March 2010 - 05:02 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

stuck on creating hash table in perl

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:54 PM

ok so i'm very new to perl and i've been going through these assignments a buddy gave me from his class so I can learn my way around perl a little and I got kinda stuck and needed a little help. I have this file, a log file from a firewall that watched different ips and the ports they scanned, now im trying to output that into a hash table to show the different ips and the ports each one tried to scan. Here is what I have so far, first i need to make meaningful named variables out of $1 and $2 which im not quite sure how to do then put it all into a hash table for output.

open ASSIGNMENT, "Log.log" or die "Can't open Log.log", $!;
$count = 0;

while ($record = <ASSIGNMENT>)
{
if ($record =~ /INext-DROP/){
	$count++;}
	$record =~ /(SRC=[0-9\.]* ).*(DPT=[0-9\.]* )/;
	print $1, $2;}
close ASSIGNMENT;

any help at all can be helpful, im gonna attach the assignment that my buddy has me trying so that might help give you some perspective.

Attached File(s)

• Attached File  perl.doc (30K)
    Number of downloads: 228

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: stuck on creating hash table in perl

• Perl Parson
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: stuck on creating hash table in perl

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:01 AM

View Poststsmiley, on 09 March 2010 - 12:54 AM, said:

Here is what I have so far, first i need to make meaningful named variables out of $1 and $2 which im not quite sure how to do then put it all into a hash table for output.

Generally, they're just called "hashes" in Perl and they basically just function like associative arrays if you're familiar with those from other languages. To associate a value with a key in a hash, the syntax is just "$hash{$key} = $value". To refer to the hash as a whole, use "%hash".

Now, on to the code!