14 Replies - 3514 Views - Last Post: 16 May 2010 - 03:37 PM

#1 UrbanTwitch   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 27-September 09

localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 04:30 PM

I know I can run a localhost on my machine but.... is there a way to put localhost for everyone on the internet to see? :-D
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: localhost on internet

#2 pmiller624   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: 02-May 10

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 04:47 PM

Yes, you need to have your modem forward your ip address to your computers local ip. This way when someone types your ip address in the their browser they will go to your localhost.

1) sign into your modems admin panel (it should be 192.168.0.1)
2) look for the forwarding page
3) on your computer go to the command line and type ipcongfig/all, if you are on a mac type ipconfig getpacket en1
4) look for a line that say ip address if you on a mac the line will be "yiaddr" the ip should look like 192.168.0.XX
5) go back to your admin panel under forwarding a type in that ip and set the port to 80
6) last type your ip address into the browser and that should be it (go to whatismyip.com if you don't know it)

If I left out a step or it doesn't work let me know

Good luck

This post has been edited by pmiller624: 13 May 2010 - 04:50 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 UrbanTwitch   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 27-September 09

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:10 PM

"The server at 192.168.0.1 is taking too long to respond."

Firefox. :(

I am using Windows Vista (x64)
Using linksys as my router.

This post has been edited by UrbanTwitch: 13 May 2010 - 05:15 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 pmiller624   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: 02-May 10

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:18 PM

Ok, go to your computers command line and type "ipcongfig/all", if you are on a mac type "ipconfig getpacket en1". Look for a line that says default gateway or if on a mac it will say siaddr. Type that ip into your browser
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 JBrace1990   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 112
  • View blog
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 09-March 08

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:44 PM

it's 192.168.1.1

As stated above, you need to port forward your router to point towards the computer running the server.

http://stackoverflow...t-from-internet should help you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 pmiller624   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: 02-May 10

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:48 PM

View PostJBrace1990, on 13 May 2010 - 04:44 PM, said:

it's 192.168.1.1

As stated above, you need to port forward your router to point towards the computer running the server.

http://stackoverflow...t-from-internet should help you.


It's not always 192.168.1.1, in fact from with in the admin panel you can change it to whatever you want. For me it's 192.168.0.1 and that's why I suggested using the Terminal/DOS.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 no2pencil   User is online

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6821
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,440
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 06:56 PM

This has nothing to do with PHP.

Moved to Web Servers & Hosting.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 UrbanTwitch   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 27-September 09

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 07:27 PM

I get a dialog asking for user and pass when I go to 192.168.1.1. I don't know it but I could get it.
I am using linksys... what then?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 no2pencil   User is online

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6821
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,440
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 07:33 PM

check the documentation that came with your router.

Most likely it's user 'admin' password leave it blank.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 JBrace1990   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 112
  • View blog
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 09-March 08

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 07:50 PM

For my Linksys it's Admin and pass
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 UrbanTwitch   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 27-September 09

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 08:08 PM

Nope, it's not admin and (blank) or admin and pass. But I can get the user and pass tomorrow.

Let's say I get in now: what then?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 no2pencil   User is online

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6821
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,440
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 13 May 2010 - 08:11 PM

View PostUrbanTwitch, on 13 May 2010 - 06:10 PM, said:

Using linksys as my router.

What model number?

You can find all of this information on Google. We'll gladly help you, but waiting for us to hold your hand is only going to delay your project.

In fact, if you had specified the model number, all I would do is Google "Linksys (model number) port forwarding" & most likely it's going to take you to a site like like this one, & I would post a link to it here.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 UrbanTwitch   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 27-September 09

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 14 May 2010 - 06:04 AM

Ok thanks I'll do that when I get home. But in no way you better be insinuating that I'm waiting around like a baby for you to hold my hand. I'm simply new to this. Give me a freaking break.

This post has been edited by UrbanTwitch: 14 May 2010 - 06:04 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 no2pencil   User is online

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6821
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,440
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 15 May 2010 - 09:42 PM

We were all new at one point. All I'm saying is that you posting the model number in here is no different than actually searching for it. That's all I'm going to do, & I'll post back the most reliant result.

It is a fact that you will find the answer your self rather than posting it here, waiting for a few days for someone to respond.

Port Forwarding is an extremely simple task to accomplish. I'm not trying to insult you, I'm actually trying to tell you that I know you can do this :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Glorfindal   User is offline

  • Java Enthusiast
  • member icon

Reputation: 37
  • View blog
  • Posts: 607
  • Joined: 31-December 08

Re: localhost on internet

Posted 16 May 2010 - 03:37 PM

Also if you want your own domain like (dreamincode.net) then all you have to do is simply buy that domain and go into the DNS and do and in the @ record type in your IP address. But we can tell you more about that when you get there.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1