0 Replies - 15831 Views - Last Post: 26 May 2010 - 09:52 AM

• Lurker
  • member icon

• View blog

Help with a complex query, using mysql

Posted 26 May 2010 - 09:52 AM

Hey all,

I am a student doing a work term and creating a site with PHP/Mysql.

I have been working this for a couple of hours now and could really use a hand. I have attached a simple ERD that shows the structure of the tables that I am working with. It was made with some free modeling software I found as I don't have anything to model a db here.

The structure is as follows :

members - Self explanatory, members are identified by their member_id

programs - Various programs and areas of interest, members can express interest in programs

member_programs - Associative table between members and programs with member_id and program_id FK's

shouts - can be sent from user to user, the member_id refers to the senders member_id, the friend_id refers to the recipients member_id.

events - Events can appeal to many different interests and programs

events_programs - Associative table between events and programs with event_id and program_id fk's

feed - Whenever a shout is sent, or an event is created it is added to the feed table. The feed table has a field called activity_type_id which corresponds to the type of activity it is recording(4 is shout,17 is new event). There is a trans_id field that corresponds to the id of the event or shout it is referring to (if the shouts id was 42 then the trans_id would be 42).

My goal is to have one query that will return all shouts sent to the user and all events created that are in the users realm of interest. First I created the query to get the shouts :

SELECT sh.shout_id,sh.shout_body, m.first_name,m.last_name,f.feed_id
FROM `shouts` AS sh
INNER JOIN members AS m ON sh.member_id = m.member_id
INNER JOIN feed AS f ON sh.shout_id = f.trans_id
WHERE sh.friend_id = 13

This works fine, I am using the id 13 in the where clause as it is my test user.