5 Replies - 2168 Views - Last Post: 07 June 2010 - 07:42 PM

Poll: Post Bacc - Community College or University? (3 member(s) have cast votes)

Community College or 4 year for post-Bacc?

1. Community College (0 votes [0.00%])

Percentage of vote: 0.00%

2. 4 yr. University (3 votes [100.00%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 100.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Post Bacc - Community College or University?

Posted 06 June 2010 - 05:09 AM

Sorry if this is the wrong section. Please move to appropriate section if this isn't the right place.

Hello everyone. A little about myself first. I'm a 24 year old teacher. Graduated in 2008 with a degree in political science and started teaching soon after. I've been teaching for 2 years and well, although it isn't too bad of a field, I'm looking to get out ASAP. I love university and learning, so that's where I want to be. I'm still young, so I figure if I'm gonna go back I might as well go back while I'm still in my 20s with no responsibilities (kids/mortgage/ect..)

Why computer science though? Well I've been asking myself this too, I've thought about going back to school for many things but always seem to come back to this. I don't have any illusions that a computer science degree is gonna lead to a glamorous job. I took a year of programming in high school,a year of web design, plus a vocational class at the time to get A+ certified. My roommate/good friend majored in computer science through college and I know what he went through. Countless nights debugging and pulling his hair out over assignments. So I have an idea of what it'll be like. I've been teaching myself java over the past few months in my free time and well it's a great sense of accomplishment when I do get the assignments to work. I can see myself making a career out of it.