9 Replies - 7894 Views - Last Post: 16 June 2010 - 04:28 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Starting to learn GUI

Posted 15 June 2010 - 11:38 PM

Hello friends,

I am currently studying computer science in my local university. This semester we covered programming one (paper), which covers loops method, objects, and so on with Bluej (basic java, i assume?). so programming two begins in one month which will cover GUI and inheritance using netbean. I was hoping to get headstart by reading books about GUI/inheritance, but struggled to find any on Google/amazon.com.

my question is "What did you first study to learn GUI/inheritance, does using netbeans help??
Note: I have absolutely no experience using GUI/inheritance)

NETBEANS experience: i have been trying to design a calculator using netbeans and guess what? i find it really challenging using it, most of the thing don't work cording to plan.

Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Starting to learn GUI

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Starting to learn GUI

Posted 15 June 2010 - 11:55 PM

I would rather get underneath the coding for GUI and do the coding instead of the GUI Builder that NetBeans has.

I started learning GUIs from youtube videos and www.vtc.com a course named Java Graphics.
I also started reading from some other books I have like Dietel and Dietel How To Program and another Book i forget the name of now ( didn't use for that long ), and O'Reilly Java Swing.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 June 2010 - 12:19 AM

Thanks for the reply buddy:). more opinions welcome :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 June 2010 - 12:33 AM

You're welcome.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• HAL9000 was an Apple product
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 June 2010 - 01:36 AM