4 Replies - 1165 Views - Last Post: 24 October 2010 - 09:47 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Practice with SQL Server

Posted 09 September 2010 - 05:13 PM

Having learned the basics of SQL Server I would like to pursue Microsoft certification. However, I have a bit of a handicap in that I am self-taught at home, so I've no way of gaining any real-world experience other than online. Does anyone know of a web site where I might gain such experience/knowledge? The reason I ask is that I really want to get to grips with SQL Server, hopefully for the purpose of becoming more competitive on the job market ... I'm not currently working in IT.
Any sound advice/guidance would be greatly appreciated. In anticipation, many thanks.

BTW, I'm interested in Microsoft exam 70-432.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Practice with SQL Server

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Practice with SQL Server

Posted 09 September 2010 - 05:33 PM

I assume you have installed MS SQL Express, right?

If so can you elaborate on "I really want to get to grips with SQL Serve"?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 09 September 2010 - 06:31 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 09 September 2010 - 11:33 PM, said:

I assume you have installed MS SQL Express, right?

If so can you elaborate on "I really want to get to grips with SQL Serve"?

Yep, sure. "I really want to get to grips with SQL Server insofar as running T-SQL scripts, & all things related to admin & database maintenance are concerned". Hope that's clearer, and I apologise for the ambiguity.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 September 2010 - 08:26 PM

I would try looking for volunteer work with local organizations. I am currently in the same situation, and am looking for volunteer work to count as experience.