5 Replies - 1484 Views - Last Post: 22 December 2010 - 10:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question about the int main

Posted 01 November 2010 - 01:49 PM

Hey it it's KG3

I have a question, about int main.

When a person does int main in the start of the code after the header, since int is a datatype and main i know it is a key word so it will not work as a var, but how come you have to type in int again.Does the program knows alredy that the var is a int datatype? I am new to programming, and none of the books i am reading are explaining why.
here is what i am talking about, i dont have a complier on me so i am gonna just type it out.
#include "iostream"
using namespace std;

int main() { //the datatype is already right here in this statment

int n;  //why do you need to type in this dataype?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question about the int main

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Question about the int main

Posted 01 November 2010 - 02:01 PM

View PostKG3UNFORGN, on 01 November 2010 - 12:49 PM, said:

Hey it it's KG3

I have a question, about int main.

When a person does int main in the start of the code after the header, since int is a datatype and main i know it is a key word so it will not work as a var, but how come you have to type in int again.Does the program knows alredy that the var is a int datatype? I am new to programming, and none of the books i am reading are explaining why.
here is what i am talking about, i dont have a complier on me so i am gonna just type it out.
#include "iostream"
using namespace std;

int main() { //the datatype is already right here in this statment

int n;  //why do you need to type in this dataype?

n is a random variable that will be used in main. n does not have to be int, it could be any data type such float, double, ect. ect. int before main is what the main function returns which is just an interger.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• spelling expret
  • member icon