5 Replies - 3470 Views - Last Post: 30 November 2010 - 01:21 PM

#1 _HAWK_   User is offline

  • Master(Of Foo)
  • member icon

Reputation: 1162
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,444
  • Joined: 02-July 08

64 Bit Application

Posted 30 November 2010 - 11:55 AM

So I have upgraded to Windows 7. Always a learning curve, I seem to like it so far - minus one thing. I have found that I cannot debug as usual 'Can not make changes to a 64 bit application' when trying to make changes during debugging. This will certainly change my programming style - as with Graphics I use the debugger lots to make subtle changes. Is there a setting I could change? Pro version have some options for this situation?

Using 2008 Express, moving to 2010 but not some of my apps yet.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: 64 Bit Application

#2 lordofduct   User is offline

  • I'm a cheeseburger
  • member icon


Reputation: 2668
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,786
  • Joined: 24-September 10

Re: 64 Bit Application

Posted 30 November 2010 - 12:10 PM

2010 doesn't offer "edit and continue" of 64-bit apps either.


What msdn suggests is:

http://msdn.microsof...y/ba77s56w.aspx

Quote

If you are debugging a 64-bit application and want to use Edit and Continue, you must change the target platform and compile the application as a 32-bit application. You can change this setting by opening the Project Properties and going to the Compile page. On that page, click Advanced Compile Options and change the Target CPU setting to x86 in the Advanced Compiler Settings dialog box.


just set it back to 64-bit when you compile if you want it compiled as 64-bit.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 _HAWK_   User is offline

  • Master(Of Foo)
  • member icon

Reputation: 1162
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,444
  • Joined: 02-July 08

Re: 64 Bit Application

Posted 30 November 2010 - 12:48 PM

I can't find that option on this shiny new version of 2008.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 lordofduct   User is offline

  • I'm a cheeseburger
  • member icon


Reputation: 2668
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,786
  • Joined: 24-September 10

Re: 64 Bit Application

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:03 PM

there's a few places ( I have the full version, so you might not have all of them).

Try right clicking the solutions and selecting properties (the solution, not the project), and it's under 'Configuration Properties'.

Under the Build drop menu, slect 'Configuration Manager'.

In the project properties, under the 'Compile' section, select 'Advanced Compile Options...'



Personally I always have selected 'Any-CPU' and it allows for "edit & continue"
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 _HAWK_   User is offline

  • Master(Of Foo)
  • member icon

Reputation: 1162
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,444
  • Joined: 02-July 08

Re: 64 Bit Application

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:09 PM

There is a setting's option in the Tools -> Options -> check 'show all settings' -> select Projects and Solutions -> General -> check 'Show advanced build configurations. Just in case anyone else needs this. Now the option for Target CPU is available on the Compile page.

This post has been edited by hawkvalley1: 30 November 2010 - 01:16 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 _HAWK_   User is offline

  • Master(Of Foo)
  • member icon

Reputation: 1162
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,444
  • Joined: 02-July 08

Re: 64 Bit Application

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:21 PM

Add the 86x to the Platform list in the Configuration Manager.

This post has been edited by hawkvalley1: 30 November 2010 - 01:24 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1