6 Replies - 12135 Views - Last Post: 24 April 2011 - 05:50 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

What is the difference between an interpreter and a compiler?

Posted 24 April 2011 - 10:05 AM

I am very new to python, I have java experience, but want to learn a new language. So what is the difference between an interpreter and a compiler.

What should I use? Any recommendations on what I should use? Currently I have a python GUI of IDLE.

Another question I have is python mostly all handled at runtime?

Thank you for your time in advance.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What is the difference between an interpreter and a compiler?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What is the difference between an interpreter and a compiler?

Posted 24 April 2011 - 11:07 AM

An interpreted language is one which is read at the time of execution and each statement is executed as it is read. It is "interpreted" just like when a person interprets what a person said in one language to another as it is being said.

A compiled language is one which is read, translated into machine code (or bytecode) and then saved into that format to be executed later. This also typically links in other libraries modules etc at the time of compiling (often called linking).

Python is interpreted in that the script is read and executed as it is being read. This is why you can have an error in the script further down and yet it will attempt to run the program until it hits that error. Java is compiled into bytecode (the .class file) and then it is loaded into the JVM when it needs to be ran.

Interpreted languages...

Python, PHP, Javascript, ASP, Ruby and more

Compiled Languages...

C#, Java, C/C++, VB and more

Hope this helps :)

This post has been edited by Martyr2: 24 April 2011 - 11:08 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 24 April 2011 - 11:23 AM