6 Replies - 1367 Views - Last Post: 16 May 2011 - 07:26 AM

#1 gareth.nic   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 103
  • Joined: 22-October 10

Google and Firefox conundrum...

Posted 13 May 2011 - 08:28 AM

Have you guys ever checked the processes in your task manager while Firefox and Chrome was open?

I couldn't help but notice that Firefox's memory usage increases as it remains open. AND Chrome has 2 sometimes 3 processes running. Why???


Attached Image
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Google and Firefox conundrum...

#2 Creecher   User is offline

  • I don't care
  • member icon

Reputation: 562
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,049
  • Joined: 06-March 10

Re: Google and Firefox conundrum...

Posted 13 May 2011 - 09:47 AM

Try Opera, it's memory usage has gone up to like 100,000 K or more on my computer.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Raynes   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 615
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,815
  • Joined: 05-January 09

Re: Google and Firefox conundrum...

Posted 13 May 2011 - 09:51 AM

IIRC, each chrome tab is a new chrome process. Firefox's memory increases because that just tends to happen in some cases. It isn't like you're hurting for memory here.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 gareth.nic   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 103
  • Joined: 22-October 10

Re: Google and Firefox conundrum...

Posted 13 May 2011 - 11:32 AM

I just find to be a waste of performance. And I only had one tab open though, with DIC already loaded into it. One application, one tab, 3 processes :?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Curtis Rutland   User is offline

  • (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon


Reputation: 5106
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,283
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Google and Firefox conundrum...

Posted 13 May 2011 - 06:08 PM

Firefox has had memory leaks since day one. They've gotten better and worse and better again, but they've never been fully fixed.

Chrome spawns a new process for each tab opened, as well as each plugin and addon. This is by design. It is more resource-intensive, but it also allows individual tabs to crash or slow, without affecting the entire browser. Plugin crashes also do not affect the browser itself. You can see all Chrome's running processes by clicking Task Manager from the menu button.

This post has been edited by Curtis Rutland: 13 May 2011 - 06:10 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 SurfingShark   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 38
  • View blog
  • Posts: 188
  • Joined: 18-April 11

Re: Google and Firefox conundrum...

Posted 15 May 2011 - 07:25 PM

Seems as thought Internet Explorer does the same thing Chrome does (or at least for IE9). Very interesting, I never even thought of this. Everybody assumes the browser is a light piece of software, but it is the opposite and this shows that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Curtis Rutland   User is offline

  • (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon


Reputation: 5106
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,283
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Google and Firefox conundrum...

Posted 16 May 2011 - 07:26 AM

I don't think that many people assume browsers are lightweight. They're always near the top of my list for memory consumption, assuming I'm not actually working or playing a game.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1