8 Replies - 14210 Views - Last Post: 24 May 2011 - 03:20 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

PHP Programming Question

Posted 23 May 2011 - 02:23 PM

Greetings!

I am new to PHP and I have a small project I need advice on. I am a volunteer fire fighter and I have redesigned our departments website and we cover 2 counties with burn ban information. I would like to automate VIA a webpage a "click to turn on/off" feature for this. Should this be done VIA PHP or JAVA, or other? The easiest and simplest the better as my skill stops once I get outside of dreamweaver.

I am looking to make a generic page with a button that says "enable ban" and once its enabled it would say "end ban" and when you click on the button it changes the image on the webpage automatically. Can this be done (I am sure it can be) but how hard will it be?

Thanks in advanced.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: PHP Programming Question

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: PHP Programming Question

Posted 23 May 2011 - 02:43 PM

This should be easy to do in PHP.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 May 2011 - 03:13 PM

Is this information going to be stored on the website/server (for individual users) at all, or is it solely for single use display purposes?

The first, I'd go with PHP. The latter I'd go javascript.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 23 May 2011 - 04:24 PM

Hi GhandiJones thanks for the reply,

This would be on the backend of the site and the displayed image or outcome would be displayed on index.html in a column where both counties would report the burn ban status. Its just something someone can navigate to inter-department and click to change versus me having to open a text editor or dreamweaver and tell it to swap images as the burn bans frequently change. They want a monkey (someone with no editing skills) to be able to tell it to change.