5 Replies - 4985 Views - Last Post: 16 October 2011 - 03:42 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Searching for an Ideal Programming Laptop

Posted 06 September 2011 - 03:27 AM

Hello fellow programmers,

I'm searching for a laptop to use in my university. I'm majoring in Computer Science and have concluded that a laptop is a great tool for programming when away from my desktop computer.

The following is a list of abilities I'm expecting the laptop to have:

• Develop applications using XNA GameStudio/Visual Studio, Eclipse and any other IDE
  • Play video games created in XNA Game Studio
  • Watch YouTube videos
  • Listen to music
  • Surf the internet
  • Create graphics using Adobe Photoshop

My price range is a laptop below $850 (excluding tax/s&h)

I've been recommended to shop for a laptop made by either Asus or Fujitsu, the processor must be I3 or I5, and the laptop must include a video card made by a popular brand such as Radeon.

Which laptops on the market do you guys recommend me buying with the abilities I described above?

Thank you,
wrench

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Searching for an Ideal Programming Laptop

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Searching for an Ideal Programming Laptop

Posted 06 September 2011 - 05:33 AM

I always recommend Asus, but your price range will limit your options if you want a dedicated video card. If you don't need high end gaming performance and can live with an onboard video card then you options open up substantially. If you're set on the options you listed, the only thing I would add is a monitor with the highest possible resolution, when staring at a laptop screen even the difference between 768 and 900 vertical pixels is huge to overall appearance in my experience.
This is what Newegg has to offer for laptops with dedicated video, i5 CPU, under $850 and with a minimum resolution of 1600x900:

http://www.newegg.co...ptops-Notebooks