Are Java Applets obsolete today?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 41813 Views - Last Post: 01 January 2013 - 05:33 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Are Java Applets obsolete today?

Posted 30 October 2011 - 08:57 PM

Hi everyone at dreamincode! =D I would call myself a "Java Enthusiast", since I started programming on it since August of 2010 and just recently finished a game (with a lot of help from here that other forum sites wouldn't provide) and am onto the coding of another one. Lately I've been talking to a friend who has to do a game (a group work) for his programming class in java by the end of his semester. The thing is, he told me he's working with his partners to do the Applet portion of his game.

I should probably be ashamed to say, but I have never made a java program that uses any applet libraries. Although I have read that because of ActionScript Flash objects, they have become obsolete. But I wanna know for sure, and though my knowledge of java is of a bit more than a year (and should I say I learned the principles of game programming in an unorthodox way since I had used ActionListener instead of Runnable?), I just have come to love the language so much that I intend to someday, hopefully not too far from now, learn to work with more complicated libraries of it. Are Java Applets considered obsolete today, compared to Flash Objects, or is there still any tiny bit of advantage they might hold against any other animation enhancers that would be worth in knowing them? Though this is not urgent, any answers related are welcome and really appreciated =)

This post has been edited by gfcf14: 30 October 2011 - 08:58 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Are Java Applets obsolete today?

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Are Java Applets obsolete today?

Posted 30 October 2011 - 09:19 PM