• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 1558 Views - Last Post: 11 November 2011 - 07:58 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Masters in comp sci...but not b.s.

Posted 10 November 2011 - 11:45 AM

Hi Guys,

So I am pretty new to your forum (joined in September) but I have been reading some of your topics and posts for a while and you seem like pretty smart people. I am hoping you guys can give me a little advice/insight.

I graduated in May (2011) from a pretty good college in my area with a B.S. in Biomedical Physics. As some of you know, its really hard to get a job without experience and hard to get experience without a job (which is a whole different story), but I was able to get an internship at a pretty big company called ***REDACTED***. I had always planned on returning to school to go to grad school but I first wanted to see what field I really wanted to work in by getting some real world experience. At this job, I have been developing an API and programming this robot for use in medical sonography. I really enjoy this job and decided that I would like to pursue further studies in computer science/engineering.

The problem now comes to applying for grad schools. Since I don't have a B.S. degree in computer science I am afraid that many schools will discount me too quickly. However, I did take several computer science classes in high school (every one my high school had to offer), 2 courses in computer science in college, and 1 logic class in college. I also participated in (and won) county and regional FBLA programming competitions in high school and developed a game for an independent study class.

I have been trying to come up with ways to distinguish myself on applications to grad schools. The only real idea that I came up with was to take the Computer Science GRE in the hopes that a good score would reflect my skills.

Can anyone else give me some advice that would help me?

This post has been edited by JackOfAllTrades: 10 November 2011 - 02:28 PM