3 Replies - 934 Views - Last Post: 04 December 2011 - 08:49 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question: dealing with database memory

Posted 01 December 2011 - 06:11 AM

Hello, I am still a student making a loan system..The system deals with about a thousand customer everyday to input their payment..My question is dealing about the memory of my database..(assume my database is properly normalize already)

If I have a table in my database which is already normalize and contains the data about the amount of payment that day, the customer_no, and the balance remaining for that day...If I am dealing with a lot of customer everyday (say 1000 customer's payment data to be inputed to that table in just one day) I'll be producing about 1000 rows everyday.. :blink:

Is my MS SQL database be able to support that number of rows which in a year can be about moreover a hundred thousand..?

The other way around I come to think is backup that table for that day and truncate it for another day to be inputed but the problem here is that this table has a relationship with other table..(something like the table of target performance and so on..) :huh2:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question: dealing with database memory

• Enhance Your Calm
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Question: dealing with database memory

Posted 01 December 2011 - 07:20 AM

View Postellexy, on 01 December 2011 - 01:11 PM, said:

Is my MS SQL database be able to support that number of rows which in a year can be about moreover a hundred thousand..?

Yes, easily. Given that the server computer was built sometime in the last decade and there aren't some other processes eating up the server's resources.