4 Replies - 1321 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2012 - 10:21 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Student new to software development! Need a little advice

Posted 17 January 2012 - 03:39 PM

Hey guys I have some questions about schooling and such. I'll start with some background.

I live in the southern metro of Minnesota. I am 22 years of age, almost 23. This is my second semester at a technical college. Currently I'm pursuing an a.a.s in software development. Since I'm only in my first semester I have not learned anything about coding, its mainly been learning basic, OS operations and networking.

I live with my girlfriend in a cheap small 1 br apartment. We both work full time and she is also going to school, but I'm a little more excited to get done and move out in the field, but my current full time job as a industrial painter/welder makes it really difficult to go to school full time, so I'm only able to take like half the credits I should be.

So my first question is how can i get more involved it development? I would like to start tinkering around but I have no idea where to start.

My other question is what kinda jobs should I be on the look out for? My girlfriend and I have decided that working my deadend job is a waste of time. I only get 12 bucks an hour and i'm ready to leave that for something part time so that I can go to school full time and get done with my degree. I would like to work somewhere that will help me learn more about my career choice, or just computers and office work in general.

Any help or advise is appreciated, and if you need anymore information about my situation please don't hesitate to ask.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Student new to software development! Need a little advice

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Student new to software development! Need a little advice

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:13 PM