Multiple Text Boxes - Write to txt File on Same Line + More.

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 21788 Views - Last Post: 06 February 2012 - 12:09 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Multiple Text Boxes - Write to txt File on Same Line + More.

Posted 26 January 2012 - 01:05 AM

i am new to coding, I am currently in my 3rd week of my first VB class. i am learning, but i do not know enough yet.

i need to code a program to help me in my everyday job, i own my own business and this will help me with my sales.

its a very simple program, and i cant figure out how to get my multiple textboxes to write to a new .txt file. i can only get it to do 1 line at a time.

I have textboxes. named txtDate, txtCarrier, txtLocation, txtDateEmpty, txtDestination, txtQuote, txtPhone, txtFax, txtEmail.

I want the "txtDate" textbox to be autofilled with the current date and time of the user input, which is started on the next textbox.

the rest of the textboxes are going to be user input.

then when the user is done entering data into the multiple textbox's they would click a button "add" or something to that sort.

then those text box entries including the "txtDate" would be written to a new .txt file.

in this format,

"Date - Carrier - Location - DateEmpty - Destination - Quote - Phone - Fax - Email "

all on the same line.

and when the "add" button is clicked, the multiple textbox fields clear all the data previously entered.

and is ready for another user input.

after the 2nd set of user input is entered, and "add" button is pressed, it would add(append) another line to the same txt file previously written.
example:

"Date - Carrier - Location - DateEmpty - Destination - Quote - Phone - Fax - Email "

"Date2 - Carrier2 - Location2 - DateEmpty2 - Destination2 - Quote2 - Phone2 - Fax2 - Email2 "

then the previously filled text boxes would be empty again, and ready for input 3. and with this you would be able to add countless lines over and over of user input.