4 Replies - 3580 Views - Last Post: 20 February 2012 - 02:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Edge and color detecting

Posted 18 February 2012 - 10:20 PM

I am scanning a passport picture or any other image with different sizes. after scanning I want to clear the excess area in the image which is color.
How can I automatic detect the excess white color in the image and delete it to get the scanned area I want??

as you can see in the attached black image.
the black area is the area which I want to get finally , and automatic crop for the white area.

regards...

Attached image(s)

• Attached Image

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Edge and color detecting

• WinRT Dev
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Edge and color detecting

Posted 19 February 2012 - 03:31 AM

What do you think how to get the actual image? I'm not very good at image detection or stuff like that but what comes to my mind is to check the pixels of the whole image and find the corners of the actual image you need and then calculate the area where the actual image is and only take that area.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Enhance Your Calm
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 February 2012 - 07:24 AM

I would start by scanning the image from all sides, looking for pixels that don't belong to the margin you want removed; store the position of those pixels and use those to extract that exact portion.

Finding the position wouldn't have to be more complicated than this. (Pseudo code)
int GetLeftBound()
    while x < image width
        while y < image height
            if pixel at (x,y) is not a part of the margin
                retrurn x