5 Replies - 1465 Views - Last Post: 27 February 2012 - 06:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

What is OpenGL? Game engines?

Posted 27 February 2012 - 01:43 PM

Ok everyone, yell at me and scream in my face for the next five minutes. But heres, a simple question, and I'm sorry I haven't heard of this as I'm new to game programming and have since created all my projects from scratch. What is OpenGL? I know. I'm seriously asking that cause I have no idea of what it is, or what it does, or how to call it. Now, another question. Are game engines needed to make fast games? Or can I do it all from scratch(Preffered by me, at least) and still get fast, if not faster results? Thanks for your time!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What is OpenGL? Game engines?

• XNArchitect
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What is OpenGL? Game engines?

Posted 27 February 2012 - 01:46 PM

OpenGL is a library used for manipulating graphics similar to DirectX, except it's not Windows specific. Game engines can speed up the development time of projects, but it's not necessary to use an existing image to create an efficient game.

This post has been edited by Kilorn: 27 February 2012 - 01:48 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 27 February 2012 - 01:49 PM

Thanks! Although I'd like more information on OpenGL, like a very detailed synopsis, but the answer on game engines seems rather good. I don' like using game engines for things like 2D games, but ill use blender and unity for bigger projects.

As for OpenGl, is it installed on all systems? What exactly does it contain? How would I call it? What's it main purpose? What language is it used in? Can Java use it? Thanks in advance!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• XNArchitect
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 February 2012 - 02:17 PM

I gave you a link to the OpenGL website. I'm sure you'll find plenty of information on OpenGL there.
Was This Post Helpful? 0