6 Replies - 1631 Views - Last Post: 28 February 2012 - 08:09 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

vb 6

Posted 28 February 2012 - 07:16 AM

i am new to VB 6.0.... i would lyk to know how can i check an inputed character for uppercase or lowercase..pls some1 help me out
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: vb 6

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: vb 6

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:05 AM

vb6 has functions called toupper and tolower each one returns a string so you can do string comparison to find if your letter is uppercase or lowercase. Basically when you are doing a comparison of the strings you are comparing the ASCII value of each one of them.

ex:

if val = val.toupper() then 
'do something if it is uppercase
else if val = val.tolower() then
'do something if it is lowercase 
end if 

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:10 AM

I appreciate you're new here, but please try to read the forum rules before posting, as you'll find that you'll get a much better response.

Firstly, the title VB in a VB forum, doesn't tell anybody anything about your problem. Please try to give meaningful titles to your posts.

This post is also, no doubt related to your original post, so it might have been better if you'd edited or appended to your original post as people have responded to that post.

I'm not trying to come down hard on you, just trying to make your life a little easier in getting answers to your questions.

Lastly, to answer your question, yes you can check, but using the ASCII value of the character and checking if it's in the range for upper or lower case values.

Do a search on the ASC function as a starting point.

View Postrgfirefly24, on 28 February 2012 - 03:05 PM, said: