1 Replies - 4699 Views - Last Post: 01 March 2012 - 08:02 AM

#1 SwiftStriker00   User is offline

  • No idea why my code works
  • member icon

Reputation: 439
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,617
  • Joined: 25-December 08

[Link] Verisign seizes .com domain

Posted 01 March 2012 - 07:34 AM

It appears that US Law is world law. Go us. Either way, this is a pretty scary article

Verisign seizes .com domain registered via foreign Registrar on behalf of US Authorities.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [Link] Verisign seizes .com domain

#2 modi123_1   User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon

Reputation: 14422
  • View blog
  • Posts: 57,816
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: [Link] Verisign seizes .com domain

Posted 01 March 2012 - 08:02 AM

Well Verisign does run the contract for .COMs so it would be proper they nail them there.

Additionally the Forbes article (where that blog post cites) the company of transferring money in and out of the US.


Federal prosecutors allege that Ayre conspired to direct at least $100 million in sports gambling winnings by wire and by check to gamblers, working with payment processors located both in the U.S. and elsewhere, such as JBL Services, which processed at least $43 million, and ZipPayments, which processed at least $57 million. In addition, prosecutors claim that Ayre and Bodog caused an unnamed media broker to launch a $42 million advertising campaign between 2005 and 2008 to attract gamblers in the United States to the Bodog.com website.

That same article also cites their cover story of that company back in 2006. When he did a pretty good job of poking the bear then.


Ayre presumably has not just the vice squad but the tax collectors in a huff. While 95% of his sales come from the U.S., the 44-year-old doesn’t pay a nickel in corporate or personal income tax here. Is that legit? Foreigners are supposed to pay federal tax on income derived from U.S. business activities.

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1