3 Replies - 3227 Views - Last Post: 07 April 2012 - 04:22 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do 3d game servers work?

Posted 06 April 2012 - 09:53 PM

I haven't done a whole lot of 3d development, i am still learning but i am looking at making a test game that has a client for player input and and authoritative server for most all of the game details.

My problem is that i am confused as to how a server can deal with all the positioning and collisions without loading the entire game world(/zone/level) into memory (well where people are) like the client would in parts and dealing with position and collision using the 3d engine just not actually rendering it i guess.

That seems horribly inefficient so how do you do it. Is there some way to simulate the 3d environment in a simpler way? if so then how do you deal with collision detection and other stuff that having a loaded 3d environment could deal with easily?

I guess i am just confused on the implementation of the servers ability to provide a 3d environment that can check if the action a player is taking is physically possible or not cheating etc.

For instance a game like EVE online may have one server for each solar system, each solar system is broken up into smaller chunks to make dealing with them easier but how can it detect when one ship flys into another object in space and thus bounces off without loading that chunk as a 3d environment along with all of the object inside it to test collision against just like a single player game would.

Not the best example, rather simple, but there it is.

Any explanation on how proper games deal with this would be much appreciated, thank you.

This post has been edited by Nekroze: 06 April 2012 - 10:19 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do 3d game servers work?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do 3d game servers work?

Posted 07 April 2012 - 08:31 AM