5 Replies - 1536 Views - Last Post: 16 May 2012 - 05:54 AM

#1 fallenreaper   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 19-June 10

Getting an error when i try to restore my db

Posted 15 May 2012 - 06:30 AM

Alright, so i was checking to see what i was doing wrong, but i cant seem to get it. I have the script to build a MS_SQL db, and the data dump to populate it. I am trying to do that, but it seems like there is some issues with it.

The error i get is:

Quote

Restore failed for Server 'MYNAMEHERE'. (Miscrosoft.SqlServer.SmoExtended)
Additional Information:
-- System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError: The backup set holds a backup of a database other than the existing 'ebs_DATADUMP' database. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo)


I first tried to import the db script then restore db with the .bak file.
Second i tried a flat db restore thinking it meant it had the defiinitions inside of the .bak file
Third i tried to "Restore Files" with the .bak file, and it didnt work.

I called it 'ebs_DATADUMP' but originally i also called it something different. This is a public db i am trying to work with that is about 700mb.

What should i Do to make it load correctly?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Getting an error when i try to restore my db

#2 rgfirefly24   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon


Reputation: 473
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,218
  • Joined: 07-April 08

Re: Getting an error when i try to restore my db

Posted 15 May 2012 - 06:39 AM

your Database within the backup is not the ebs_DataDump database. Try creating a new database and call it the same as the database that the backup was taken from.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 fallenreaper   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 19-June 10

Re: Getting an error when i try to restore my db

Posted 15 May 2012 - 07:25 AM

Yea, thats what i named it to ebs_DATADUMP. When i was looking at the file when trying to restore it, i looked through the parameters, the Database Column labeled it as "ebs_DATADUMP" Do you also think it might be because of the username or server?

It has a different server name and username than where i am restoring it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 fallenreaper   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 19-June 10

Re: Getting an error when i try to restore my db

Posted 15 May 2012 - 01:52 PM

I wasnt sure if the lack of answers is because of people being busy or the belief that this is being used for nefarious reasons.

This is the EveOnline publicly distributed Database offered for each patch. The information on there is referring to Space stations, systems, regions, npc_corporations, materials/goods, and blue prints.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Nana Nyarko Abronomah   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 03-November 10

Re: Getting an error when i try to restore my db

Posted 15 May 2012 - 04:55 PM

The following factors could affect the failure to back up
1. Change the server name to something else(among those provided) or try using the machine name
2. When starting you MsSql Server, right-click and choose Run as Administrator
3. Make the location of the file you backed-up from the same as the destination server
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 rgfirefly24   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon


Reputation: 473
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,218
  • Joined: 07-April 08

Re: Getting an error when i try to restore my db

Posted 16 May 2012 - 05:54 AM

View Postfallenreaper, on 15 May 2012 - 09:25 AM, said:

Yea, thats what i named it to ebs_DATADUMP. When i was looking at the file when trying to restore it, i looked through the parameters, the Database Column labeled it as "ebs_DATADUMP" Do you also think it might be because of the username or server?

It has a different server name and username than where i am restoring it.


The user/server shouldn't matter. I just recently restored a database to my server that was done by a consulting company in India. Can you show me the script your using to restore the database? The error your getting is most likely caused because you have an Active database already called ebs_DATADUMP and your not doing a with replace.

Try this command

RESTORE DATABASE ebs_DATADUMP
FROM DISK = '<location>'
WITH REPLACE


Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1