46 Replies - 11656 Views - Last Post: 22 June 2012 - 04:22 PM Rate Topic: -----

• Product Manager
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Integer to 8 checkboxes checked

Posted 19 June 2012 - 07:51 AM

View PostKKUSA, on 18 June 2012 - 08:31 PM, said:

View PosttlhIn`toq, on 18 June 2012 - 06:11 PM, said:

The way you are going about this is far more work than needed.

Yes, I know, but Im not a professional programmer nor used to this type of programming, so I have to do it how I can even if its not the "best" way, as long as it works properly.

You were doing very well with tlhin's advice until this post.

A great improvement on your response would be "so how could I simplify this?" Might not be as difficult as you think. Also, if you are trying to teach yourself something here (which clearly you are, because you have more "bells and whistles" on this thing than you require), then you might want to learn how to do something in 10 lines of code instead of 100, which very often is the sort of economy you can realize as soon as you take yourself out of the "I just want it to work" mindset. Replacing that mindset with "I want it to work in the simplest way possible" will save you, a non-professional, every bit as many headaches as a professional. Just less often, since you're not doing this all the time.

tlhin's putting a good deal of effort into helping you, because you've shown that you want to learn something. Suppose you reward his efforts by going the extra mile. You'll be glad you did, because you obviously have the talent to understand and apply what he's telling you.

Consider yourself scolded for a stupidass response. :)

By the way, the VB.Net equivalent of C# "!" in this case is simply "Not". @thlin: VB.Net "Not" is overloaded to represent both negation and bitwise complement, and there is also an "IsNot" to negate reference equality.

This post has been edited by BobRodes: 19 June 2012 - 07:57 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.