9 Replies - 4842 Views - Last Post: 27 October 2012 - 04:56 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Adding an image to a confirmation dialog box

Posted 27 October 2012 - 01:39 PM

Let me start off by saying that I'm completely new to Java programming. I started getting into it in August, when this semester started. Right now, we're on Chapter 4: Loops in the Intro to Java Programming book, if anyone's read that.

Now, my professor wants us to come up with a program package and present it to the class as if we were trying to sell some software for a specific purpose. My group and I decided we'd do programs that would be used in a bookstore, one of them being something like a most popular book search.

We have four genres we're going to use: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Sci Fi, and Novel. Here's an idea of how I'd like the program to run:

Dialog box (I might be using the wrong terminology here) pops up, asking the user which book they'd like to see, and a drop-down menu is available that will list the genres and their corresponding most popular books: "Which book would you like to see?"

After selecting a book from the drop down menu (and possibly confirming their choice?), another window will pop up (doesn't have to stack on top of the dialog box, can replace it, if that makes any difference) with an image of the book's cover and information about the author and when it was written, along with a confirmation (Yes/No/Cancel, although I'm hoping to customize what those buttons say) underneath it. If cancelled, the user can go back to selecting from the genres.

After a book is selected, another dialog box will come up saying "Thank you! Please bring this book to the checkout before you leave." with the picture of the book that was selected.