Java Hangman

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 2207 Views - Last Post: 03 December 2012 - 12:54 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Java Hangman

Posted 02 December 2012 - 09:52 PM

Hey guys, first off I want to say that I am very new to java and programming in general. I am a junior in HS in my CS1 class and we haven't exactly covered advanced methods of doing things. As you can see by the title, the project we are working on is hangman. The only rules for the project are that we must have a user make up a word and input it into the password field. Then we just give the use 8 tries to guess the word. I have tried looking for examples, but all of those consist of people using text documents containing a list a words. Mine, on the other hand, has a user enter a word. Also, I know that this code is extremely crude as I not know a whole lot.

Here is my code

import javax.swing.JOptionPane;
import javax.swing.JPasswordField;
import java.util.Scanner;
public class Hangman_New
{
    public static void main(String[] args)
    {
        String secretWord = "";
        Scanner scan = new Scanner(System.in);

String m0 = ("      __________\n     |         |\n     |         |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n__________________________");
        String m1 = ("      __________\n     |         |\n     |         |\n     o         |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n__________________________");
        String m2 = ("      __________\n     |         |\n     |         |\n     o         |\n     |         |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n__________________________");
        String m3 = ("      __________\n     |         |\n     |         |\n     o         |\n    \\|         |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n               |\n__________________________");