5 Replies - 3101 Views - Last Post: 15 March 2013 - 07:46 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

desktp app to connect to ms sql server

Posted 14 March 2013 - 09:46 PM

I have some data in a text file. Now i want to write an application to send those data to ms sql server running on my pc as a local database. I am a beginner. So can anyone provide some easy tutorial about this?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: desktp app to connect to ms sql server

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: desktp app to connect to ms sql server

Posted 14 March 2013 - 10:31 PM

So will you be writing this as a windows Form?
i know how to connect to the database and send data to it but is this a project or homework you must do or is it personal work?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 March 2013 - 10:35 PM

start searching, this info should be pretty readily available, but without reading them all it's hard to tell what exactly will help you and at what skill level you are at.

Some things to start with
"C# load text file"
"C# create sql server database"
"C# populate sql server database"

play with the search terms and I'm sure you'll be able ot piece something together even without much experience..

If you arent familiar with programming at all, you might try looking at the vb.net examples also, it's UI is a bit more intuitive for the inexperience in my opinion, however any sort of java, javascript, php, c, c++ experience, you're on the right track with c#. You can do everything you want to inside of the visual studio IDE though.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 March 2013 - 10:38 PM

View PostLawlessBaron, on 14 March 2013 - 10:31 PM, said:

So will you be writing this as a windows Form?
i know how to connect to the database and send data to it but is this a project or homework you must do or is it personal work?