6 Replies - 998 Views - Last Post: 17 April 2013 - 04:57 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 itzmePoulami   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 12-March 13

Vb.net windows application

Posted 16 April 2013 - 10:59 PM

I have created a vb.net windows application using Visual Studio 2008 and Sql Server 2008. I've created the .exe file and its running fine on my machine.
But when I install the exe file in another machine it doesnot work.
Is it possible to run a vb.net windows application in 4 different PCs by installing Sql Server 2008 in only one of the PCs???
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Vb.net windows application

#2 itzmePoulami   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 12-March 13

Re: Vb.net windows application

Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:07 PM

Reply Soon.... :helpsmilie:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 kai_itz me   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 28
  • View blog
  • Posts: 159
  • Joined: 03-August 12

Re: Vb.net windows application

Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:27 PM

No, you can't... you have to install sql server in all of them in order to run your application (if u are using sql database in your application)..

This post has been edited by kai_itz me: 16 April 2013 - 11:29 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 itzmePoulami   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 12-March 13

Re: Vb.net windows application

Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:42 PM

View Postkai_itz me, on 16 April 2013 - 11:27 PM, said:

No, you can't... you have to install sql server in all of them in order to run your application (if u are using sql database in your application)..


What am I supposed to do then if I want the data entered from four machines to be stored in a single database...??? :/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 kai_itz me   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 28
  • View blog
  • Posts: 159
  • Joined: 03-August 12

Re: Vb.net windows application

Posted 17 April 2013 - 12:00 AM

you can create another column say record-type in order to differentiate data you are getting from different machines.

now if you are getting data from machine_one set your record-type say 'm1'
similarly for others 'm2' so on ..
(but only when if all of them are connected through network with sql server)

This post has been edited by kai_itz me: 17 April 2013 - 09:16 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 kai_itz me   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 28
  • View blog
  • Posts: 159
  • Joined: 03-August 12

Re: Vb.net windows application

Posted 17 April 2013 - 12:08 AM

Actually i am not very good at this,,
we have some very good mentors over this website... yon can wait for their guidance
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 CharlieMay   User is offline

  • This space intentionally left blank
  • member icon

Reputation: 1729
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,708
  • Joined: 25-September 09

Re: Vb.net windows application

Posted 17 April 2013 - 04:57 AM

Yes, You most certainly can. As long as you are not talking about a local copy (database file). You're going to have to ensure that you have access to that machine through the network. Ensure that it is set up to allow remote connections. Many tutorials online will help you with that point.

Then you just need to ensure that your connectionstring is set up to point to the proper name/instance of sqlserver2008

Example might be something like:

Data Source=MAINDBSERVER\SQLEXPRESS;Initial Catalog=PersonnelDB;Integrated Security=True


Where of course, MAINDBSERVER would be replaced with the machinename hosting the sqlserver instance and PersonnelDB would change to the database on that server you want access to.

This should get you started with the server setup at least.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1