8 Replies - 2001 Views - Last Post: 14 June 2013 - 04:52 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Tile Collision guide?

Posted 13 June 2013 - 06:33 AM

HI. Im new to xna. What are the technique use in tile collision? I am using a tile editor in my game but i dont know how for example if the tile a head of me is a tree? I mean how can i know if there is a tree on my tile so that my sprite would not go through? No the sophisticated way but i am looking for a more newbie? just to have an idea how it works? I really dont know how it works. pls help thanks
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Tile Collision guide?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Tile Collision guide?

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:38 AM

How are you tracking items on your tile? Are you stacking images or is this tree just part of the tile? The general gist is your player presses the move button, the character class determines where the next move is, polls that location from where ever/how ever the data is stored to see if it can move, and makes a determination on movement *BEFORE* it moves.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Cabbage
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:40 AM

You could loop over all of the objects in the game and see if they are on that tile.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 13 June 2013 - 07:51 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 13 June 2013 - 07:38 AM, said:

How are you tracking items on your tile? Are you stacking images or is this tree just part of the tile? The general gist is your player presses the move button, the character class determines where the next move is, polls that location from where ever/how ever the data is stored to see if it can move, and makes a determination on movement *BEFORE* it moves.

The trees is part of the tiles. Can you give me sir a formula to do this?

View Postcfoley, on 13 June 2013 - 07:40 AM, said: