Is it unrealistic to want to learn by joining a group project?

• (3 Pages)
  • +

38 Replies - 3282 Views - Last Post: 12 September 2013 - 09:58 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Is it unrealistic to want to learn by joining a group project?

Posted 08 September 2013 - 11:18 PM

Hey guys, I'm a newbie here who honestly has no idea what she's doing :D/> I guess I'm looking for life advice?

A few summers ago I randomly (very, very randomly) decided I want to work on games instead of comics and decided to change my major from "general" to "computer science"; the problem with me is, all my life I've only done a little playing around code wise (HTML/CSS? Messing around with RPG Maker? Does that even count? Hahahaha) and put most of my attention into drawing instead, hence the original idea being comics. Then I go into the CS program at my school, which is actually a small-town community college, where they teach you by holding your hand and saying "just do this, it'll work, I promise". In the end, after taking both terms of Java (the only thing they offered besides a term on C and a term on database management), I felt like I did more self-teaching from the examples and messing around than anything else, and that it barely covered anything; there were only a few things we did that I actually went "woah, I could use that" and it was very specific to Java itself, I was hoping for a more general approach. So I decided I'd go back to drawing and call "programming" a hobby instead, continue to teach it to myself as I had been doing, etc.