5 Replies - 752 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2013 - 02:36 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Simple question regarding objects

Posted 30 September 2013 - 06:46 AM

Hey all,

I have been programming for 6 months with the Sense programming language (a derivative of Scratch that my school uses to teach fundamentals). I've now started with Java but I'm slightly confused about how objects interact.

I'm following the book Head First Java, and I created two classes, one which defined a "Dog" and another which used the Dog I had defined.

I am using notepad++ and compiling via the cmd prompt, but how does my second class 'know' where to find the Dog class? I write them separately, and then compile them separately, don't designate a path or anything, yet when I follow the example it still works. Does the JVM just search for a file called Dog.class in the same folder as the folder I am located in, through the command prompt?

Sorry for such a strange question, I'm just trying to understand the fundamentals.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Simple question regarding objects

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Simple question regarding objects

Posted 30 September 2013 - 07:21 AM

It will search for the Dog.class file in the same directory where the other class is situated. If it does not find it there, it will try to find it among all the classes you have imported from other packages.

Regards
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 30 September 2013 - 08:11 AM

Thank you :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 September 2013 - 08:57 AM