3 Replies - 2029 Views - Last Post: 22 September 2007 - 11:08 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

starting to learn VB

Post icon  Posted 12 September 2007 - 12:00 AM

im just starting to learn visual basic and i need to contruct GUI using visual basic. I know little in programming GUI using MATLAB but my professor requires me to program it using VB.

Can someone teach me the things i should know first just to get my program started. I really cant start putting functions in my pushbuttons, listbox and textbox.

I need a listbox that will get my input from database but still i haven't started making my database and i think i need different software, foxpro i think, for my database. im not pretty sure how is this done. After i got my lists from my database, i need to choose one entry from my listbox and choose a pushbutton then the name or the entry will have to show up in the textbox.

can someone help me. i know i really suck in programming but i really want to learn.

please please... help

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: starting to learn VB

• dream.in.assembly.code
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: starting to learn VB

Posted 12 September 2007 - 08:25 PM

For your project, you will have to read a lot. Are you learnng VB6 or NET? Foxpro is fine for your database. But try out MS SQL Server 2005. You can download it on www.msdn.com
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 19 September 2007 - 06:08 PM

im reading from books and also from internet... im trying the examples from the book and i think im learning :)

thanks for replying Louisda16th ! :)

question, can i just use excel for my database then just extract it using VB6? btw, im using VB6 :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 22 September 2007 - 11:08 AM