How long does it take to become a Junior Developer?

• (4 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »

55 Replies - 5215 Views - Last Post: 17 December 2018 - 02:12 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How long does it take to become a Junior Developer?

Posted 19 November 2013 - 06:03 PM

I've been studying java on my own for 3 months, focusing all my time and energy into it. I do not have a technical college degree.

What are the main requirements to get a job as a junior (java) developer? What skills do I need to be focusing on? How long did it take you?

I know this is really subjective, but I believe many beginners like me would like to know how much they need to learn to be able to start writing software for the real world.

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How long does it take to become a Junior Developer?

• Hash != Encryption
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How long does it take to become a Junior Developer?

Posted 19 November 2013 - 06:22 PM

I don't have a career or anything but I've been really trying for a junior position.

Thing is, a lot of places have different ideas of what junior means (and unfortunately not many of them includes those who some still call "junior"). I've seen places asking for four year degrees with a couple years work behind them just for some $10 or $15/hour.

I can't offer much advice though, but I'm also interested in this and will be following the thread. However I do have something to add,

How DO you find jobs? It seems as if many, if not all job sites are for full time positions and careers more than jobs. I've been listening to some people and right now what I'm doing is expanding my portfolio with personal projects, listening to recruiters, branching out as much as I can in Highschool, and occasionally applying to jobs on Craigslist.

And that reminds me something for you, OP. Do personal projects. If you have the skills you can surely do them. They're a great way to show your strengths.
Was This Post Helpful? 0