Create a WCF Service that gets info from an atom feed

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 2291 Views - Last Post: 21 January 2014 - 05:36 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Create a WCF Service that gets info from an atom feed

Posted 03 January 2014 - 02:43 AM

Ok so as a brand new developer my first project is to create a WCF Service. I'm a little stuck here as I have an xml file(atom feed) that I need to get data out of. I'm totally lost as to what and how to get the info. I've read up on WCF syndication but the examples and articles don't seem to match to what I need to do. I've attached the file I need to use. But to me it seems strange that I would really have to include everything.

So my questions are - what info should I concentrate on getting out of the file?
And how exactly do I get the service to understand it so that it can pass on the info?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Create a WCF Service that gets info from an atom feed

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Create a WCF Service that gets info from an atom feed

Posted 03 January 2014 - 05:15 AM

I know this isn't what you want to hear but it is probably what you need to hear...

As a brand new developer you aren't equipped to write this. You need to work on learning the C# language and foundation concepts. You can't just walk up to a brand new language and start architectonic solutions. Thinking that you can is either incredibly egotistical on your your part, or completing insulting to those that do this for a living.

You wouldn't try architectonic a house by buying a semi-trailer of materials and just hammer stuff together to see how it stands. The same goes with coding. You can't just start typing away with no training and think you will somehow get a good solution in the end.

The home page of the C# forum has a list of good books to start with.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog